ENGLISH / GERMAN

#4BlocksLive – 1 Day, 4 Blocks, 4 Challenges

THE TASK

Season 1 of the german series 4 BLOCKS from TNT Serie took television and the internet by storm, winning a myriad of awards, gaining large online fan communities and turning actors into cult figures. Expectations for Season 2 were huge! This is where the Facebook campaign promoting Season 2 comes in. It presents an opportunity for enthusiastic users to actively get involved and become opinion leaders in the discussions surrounding the new season.

Our target groups: fans of Season 1 and fans of the German rappers from the cast.

THE IDEA

At “#4BlocksLive – 1 Day, 4 Blocks, 4 Challenges.”, together with the hip-hop magazine BACKSPIN and presenter Niko BACKSPIN, we host an intended leak live on Facebook. The best part: the community itself determines how much of a maximum of 16 minutes of the first episode will be won via online challenges and “leaked” two days before the official premiere.

The aim: creating an innovative link between the world of the series, Facebook Live, user-generated content and gamification.

THE ANNOUNCEMENT PHASE

After the campaign started we first brought users back into the world surrounding clan boss Toni Hamady via mobile-optimized videos, cinemagraphs and grafics. And all this just in preperation for the big live event…

Then a message appears that takes fans′ breath away:
4 BLOCKS will be leaked! Two days before the season premiere!

In the following days little by little the Facebook community learns
what „#4BlocksLive – 1 Day, 4 Blocks, 4 Challenges“ stands for.

#4BLOCKSLIVE: A COMPLETE SUCCESS

  • 3,5 million users reached
  • 3,4 million video views
  • 1,6 million social media interactions

Fans were highly enthusiastic and leaked all possible 16 minutes, they asked the actors and creators of 4 BLOCKS unresolved questions about the second season, posted videos of own 4 BLOCKS rap songs in the run-up to the event to apply to compete in the “Rap Contest” and engaged in animated discussion for an entire day – live!

After the minutes that fans won were published on Facebook the same day at the end of the live event, there was major excitement for the new season and people could hardly wait for the season premiere two days later.

ENGLISH / GERMAN

#4BlocksLive – 1 Tag, 4 Blöcke, 4 Challenges

DIE AUFGABE

Die erste Staffel der Pay-TV Serie 4 BLOCKS von TNT Serie war ein Offline- und Online-Phänomen: Unzählige Fernsehpreise, eigene Online-Fan-Communities, Schauspieler, die zur Kultfigur wurden. Die Erwartungen an Staffel 2: riesig. Genau hier setzt die Facebook-Kampagne zur zweiten Staffel an, in der die begeisterten User selbst aktiv und damit zu Meinungstreibern, in der Diskussion rund um die neue Staffel, werden sollen.

Unsere Zielgruppen: Fans der 1. Staffel und der Rapper aus dem Cast.

DIE IDEE

Bei „#4BlocksLive - 1 Tag, 4 Blöcke, 4 Challenges“ veranstalten wir gemeinsam mit unserem Kooperationspartner, dem HipHop Magazin BACKSPIN und Moderator Nico BACKSPIN, einen geplanten Leak, live auf Facebook. Der Clou: Die Community entscheidet, wie viele von maximal 16 Minuten der ersten Folge online vorab erspielt und damit geleaked werden.

Das Ziel: Eine innovative Verbindung der Serienwelt mit Facebook-Live, User-Generated-Content und Gamification.

DIE ANKÜNDIGUNGSPHASE

Zu Kampagnenstart haben wir die User, mit mobile optimierten und extra für die Facebook-Kampagne produzierten Videos, Cinemagraphs und Grafiken zurück in die Welt rund um Clan-Boss Toni Hamady geholt. Alles zur Vorbereitung des großen Live-Events…

Dann taucht die Nachricht auf, die den Fans den Atem stocken lässt:
4 Blocks wird geleakt! 2 Tage vor Staffelstart!

Schritt für Schritt erfährt die Community in den darauffolgenden Tagen,
was sich hinter „#BlocksLive – 1 Tag, 4 Blöcke, 4 Challenges“ verbirgt.

#4BLOCKSLIVE: EIN VOLLER ERFOLG

  • 3,5 Mio. erreichte Nutzer
  • 3,4 Mio. Video Views
  • 1,6 Mio. Interaktionen

Die Fans haben mit großem Engagement und viel Begeisterung die vollen 16 Minuten geleaked, Fragen zur zweiten Staffel an die Hauptdarsteller und Macher von 4 BLOCKS gestellt, im Vorfeld eigene 4 Blocks - Raps, als Bewerbungsvideos für den „Rap-Contest“, gepostet und einen ganzen Tag live mitgefiebert und mitdiskutiert.

Nachdem am Abend des Live-Tages die erspielten Minuten der ersten Folge auf Facebook zu sehen waren, war die Begeisterung für die neue Staffel groß, der Staffelstart 2 Tage später kaum noch zu erwarten.